[1GAM-Mar] Grid Chaser: Progress Log #3

Who would’ve guessed that just talking about some screens could get this long XD
One Game A Month
Before we go further, let me just tell you that Project Chaser (or Grid Chaser as the correct title) has finally been released on Google Play! Give it a try from here, and if you don’t have any Android device, feel free to check out the gameplay video here.

Wait, what is Project Chaser? Project Chaser is an Android game where you move around in a maze using swipe control while trying to chase down an enemy. Project Chaser is also my March entry for #OneGameAMonth, and you can read the first progress log here and the second log here. So what have I been doing with project Chaser so far?

Well, it’s the last week of March and all I’ve been working on so far is the gameplay mechanics (after all, that’s where most of the fun is). Problem is, there’s also a lot of stuff on a game other than the gameplay, like the title screen or the pause menu. So I fired up Photoshop and started exploring how those screens would look like.

Pause screen

Since pause menu is the simplest one, I started working on that one first. All a pause menu needs is a text telling that it’s paused and a button for resuming the game. This time I tried to do things a little bit different by having the player tapping anywhere on the screen to resume the game. After all, I feel that its implementation in Super Hexagon result screen is really nice and make navigating the game feels faster, so I wanna see how it does here.

I also added an extra button to return to the title screen in case the player doesn’t want to play anymore. The original look I’m going for is a simple flat button, however most part of the game has been pretty flat, so how should I make the button stands out more? Well, my answer to that is by actually making the button literally stand out, so I added a simple pseudo-3D effect on the button in hope that the player would realized that this particular rectangle can be pushed down.

I really like how the pseudo-3D effect looks that I decided to also makes the pause text has the same effect (previously its just a flat, simple text). I like this new look so much that I ended up changing the entire art direction of the game from a simple flat, retro look to a pseudo-3D one XD

Check out the title screen below for more pseudo-3D madness.
Title screenIt only shows static image here, but the little rectangles on the background is actually moving from the center to the edge of the screen. The idea is to have some sort of speeding-up-in-a-tunnel look without having to actually do it in a 3D scene. To be honest, I should have used a better speed calculation so it looks more realistic, but eh, it’s good enough this way.

This time I decided to also have the level selection menu right on the title screen to make things simple. To tell you the truth, originally I wanted to have the level selections slides horizontally when changed, unfortunately due to the limited amount of time that I had, I had to cut it from the feature list.

One of the reasons I didn’t have enough time is because I spent so much time working on the “Grid Chaser” title text. I tried to make the text a little bit more fancy by adding a more complicated 3D look which surprisingly took a lot of time to get right. I also iterated over several versions of the text since I just can’t seem to get the look that I want.

Here’s one of those alternate versions of the title text that didn’t make it to the game:
Alternate title textWhile this text looks okay on a plain black background, it doesn’t look really good on the actual title screen so I ended up scrapping it =/

So with the pause and title menu done, what’s coming next? Well, the tutorial is one thing I really need to do since it’s crucial to make players understand what the game is about. Other than tutorial, there are still tons of little stuff that need works such as a working level selection, progress saving, and even finding a suitable background music.

But don’t worry, I managed to do all those stuff in the end, so stay tuned for the final progress log of project Chaser!
(and check out the game here!)

One thought on “[1GAM-Mar] Grid Chaser: Progress Log #3

  1. Pingback: [1GAM-Mar] Grid Chaser: Final Log | LegACy's Journal

Leave a Reply

