CES 2012: Day 2, 3, and a Wrap-up

CES 2012

I know, I know, it’s been days since the second and third day of CES 2012. But hey, it’s not totally my fault, most of the good products have been announced, so the rest of CES 2012 felt kinda dull. Fortunately, there are some cool gadgets I haven’t covered before, and I also got some thought over this year CES.

ASUS MeMO ME370T
If Acer Iconia Tab A700 is all about Quad-core, ICS, and 1080p, then this ASUS MeMO is all about quad-core, ICS, and $249. Yes, freaking $249! It’s totally unbelievable, with only $50 difference to Kindle Fire, you can get a tablet with ICS and the full Google ecosystem. A friend of mine is currently looking for tablets for a better reading experience, and if he’s willing to wait several month, I would definitely recommend this tablet.

Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga
Joanna Stern from The Verge totally nailed it, this is definitely one “Crazy, flipping, Yoga laptop”. Flipping? Indeed, flipping is mainly how this laptop differentiate itself from the rest of Windows 8 laptops/tablets. Basically, this is your regular Windows 8 laptop, however, you can flip the screen to the back, effectively hiding the keyboard and transforming the laptop to a tablet. Unfortunately, Windows 8 is an essential element to the usability of the tablet, so this laptop here won’t come out until Windows 8 is released later this year.

I can’t wait to see various new form factors for Windows 8 devices =D

IdeaPad Yoga

Ultrabooks
Intel has been pushing Ultrabooks really hard these days, another batch of them are introduced here at CES 2012. But, well, I’m just not really interested in them, even though I must admit that it’s really pleasing to see all those super thin laptops. The truth is, I’m really, really disappointed that none of those Ultrabooks have a decent GPU =/ You may say that you don’t need GPU for working, but according to my experience, that’s just wrong.

You see, my laptop is pretty much capable for working, since I can compile and test stuff quite quickly on it. Unfortunately, due to the lack of dedicated GPU, it isn’t capable of rotating canvas on Photoshop, something very very essential when drawing using a Wacom Bamboo. From then on, I decided that dedicated graphic card is a crucial element on laptops.

Ultrabooks

And one last thing, I barely used my laptop anymore =/ I’ve been really spoiled by my dual-monitor setup, so now working on a small, single monitor laptop really feels like it’s hampering my productivity. Nowadays, I only did some light works like checking and replying e-mails when I’m not on my desktop. However, to do those stuff, I don’t need a laptop since my tablet works just fine.

So here’s an idea to all those vendors out there, how about a tablet that can be used as a second monitor for your laptop? So all you need is a HDMI cable to connect both laptop and tablet, then voila, you get a dual-monitor laptop =D I sure am interested in that kind of devices.

Ice Cream Sandwich
This is totally against my prediction, but there are no Android phones with Ice Cream Sandwich announced on this year CES!

I really was expecting a flood of ICS-based smartphones, especially after those glowing reviews of Galaxy Nexus, but there are none of them here. We do get a lot of 720p phones like LG Spectrum, Sony Xperia S, and even Lenovo K800 which comes with Intel chipset, but they are all using Gingerbread apparently (even though most of them said that ICS is going to come via updates).

Ice Cream Sandwich

My theory behind this lack of ICS phones is because currently vendors are still developing their skinned version of ICS, which I suppose will take a lot of time since ICS is a really big departure from Android 2.x, so they’re not ready for any announcement yet.

So yeah, I suppose this means no vanilla ICS for your phones (honestly, if I was one of those vendors, I would just release one high-end phone with plain ICS while building another batch of skinned ICS phones =/). The swarm of ICS tablet supports my theory, since vendors barely customize the look of Honeycomb, they can release those ICS tablets much quicker.

Wrap-up
CES has always been special to me, it’s one year ago during CES 2011 where I started to get obsessed over consumer gadgets and technologies. I remember getting totally excited over the first dual-core smartphone, the Motorola Atrix. And even though the actual device turned out to be disappointing, the excitement of having a dual-core phone on the horizon made me really happy, it’s like being a kid in a toy store.

Well, CES did it again this year, it made me got really excited over 1080p tablets and NVidia Tegra 3 SoC. I’ve learned my lesson though, the first generation products will not be good, but the next iteration will be so awesome, just take a look at our current batch of dual-core phones, Samsung Galaxy SII, HTC Rezound, Droid RAZR, and compare it against the Atrix.

Now let’s look forward to what the Mobile World Congress on February will bring to us.
(I think there will be a Samsung Galaxy S3 announcement =D)

One thought on “CES 2012: Day 2, 3, and a Wrap-up

  1. Wow, the ASUS MeMO ME370T is really interesting! Okay, that will be my first tablet if I got money at the release time 😛 I’ve bought the Kindle Touch for the reading experience, btw. Just waiting it’s arrival to my room. 😀

    And the Lenovo Yoga, did you mean the keyboard will be upside-down when using it like a tablet? Err.

    And the “How about a tablet that can be used as a second monitor for your laptop?” really is a good idea! Maybe that can be used as a final project topics, eh?

Leave a Reply

